VitaSense

Radio-based technology to sense occupants

Awareness around the importance of not activating airbags for seats occupied by children in child seats has significantly increased since the 1990s, resulting in hundreds of children’s lives being saved.

What is not so well known is that 750 children since 1990 have died from vehicular heatstroke in the United States alone. This issue is not specific to the U.S. – cases have also been documented in several other countries.
Sadly, this is a situation that could happen to anyone.

All it takes is a change in the daily routine distracting the parent or caregiver - particularly when the child  is ‘out of sight’ on the rear seat of the car, there is a misunderstanding between parents about who will take the child out of the car, or if a child climbs into an unlocked car.

The interior temperature of a vehicle can reach a critical level in 15 minutes and, as children are affected by heatstroke faster than adults, the results can be deadly.

VitaSense is a system that detects children left in vehicles and provides this information to the vehicle’s warning systems. It detects occupants, including new-borns, based on their movements or breathing – even when they are sleeping.

Using 24 GHz low-power radio technology, similar to burglar alarms and automatic doors, VitaSense transmits a signal that is then reflected by occupants or objects. As, due to their movement, occupants modify these reflected signals differently, the system is able to discriminate between them and inanimate objects.

For more information...

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies.
Learn more

VitaSense

Technologie radio de détection des passagers

La prise de conscience, sur l’importance de ne pas activer les airbags des sièges occupés par des enfants, s’est largement répandue depuis les années 1990, ce qui a permis de sauver plusieurs vies.

Ce que l'on sait moins, c'est que depuis 1990, rien qu'aux États-Unis, 750 enfants sont morts à la suite d'un coup de chaleur dans un véhicule. Ce phénomène n'est pas propre aux États-Unis, puisque des cas similaires ont été rapportés dans plusieurs autres pays.

Et c'est une situation dont, malheureusement, personne n'est à l'abri.

Il suffit parfois d'un simple changement qui casse la routine et distrait le parent ou la personne qui s'occupe de l'enfant, en particulier si l'enfant est « hors de vue » sur la banquette arrière de la voiture ou en cas de malentendu entre les parents quant à qui était censé sortir l'enfant de la voiture ou encore si un enfant monte dans une voiture qui n'est pas fermée à clé.

La température intérieure d'un véhicule peut atteindre un niveau critique en 15 - 20 minutes et, comme les enfants sont plus sensibles aux coups de chaleur que les adultes, les conséquences peuvent être mortelles.

VitaSense est un système qui détecte les enfants laissés dans un véhicule et transmet l'information correspondante aux systèmes d'avertissement de ce véhicule. Il est capable de détecter les occupants, y compris les nouveau-nés, sur la base de leur mouvement ou de leur respiration, même s'ils sont endormis.

Utilisant une technologie radio à faible puissance exploitant la bande des 24 GHz, à l'instar des alarmes anti-effraction et des portes automatiques, VitaSense émet un signal qui est réfléchi par les occupants ou les objets. Comme les signaux réfléchis par les occupants sont modifiés lorsqu'ils bougent, le système est en mesure de différencier les êtres vivants des objets inanimés.

For more information...

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies.
Learn more