SenseAhead

Detection of pedestrians and other vulnerable road users

IEE’s intelligent vision sensor, SenseAhead detects pedestrians, vehicles and objects in a vehicle’s driving path and provides crucial input for the Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) system.

SenseAhead-2a
SenseAhead
SenseAhead-logo

AEB systems rely heavily on high-tech sensors to accurately detect the vehicle’s surroundings, as they aim to slow the car autonomously in order to avoid or mitigate a collision.

With SenseAhead you have a system specifically designed to detect pedestrians and other vulnerable road users, such as cyclists. It offers improved performance at night - when most accidents with severely or fatally injured pedestrians occur in urban areas.

The sensor uniquely combines a 2D camera with 3D distance measurement based on time-of-flight (TOF) technology. As the 3D component has its own infrared illumination, the sensor’s performance doesn’t rely on other light sources, such as vehicle headlights or street lamps. SenseAhead thereby offers enhanced sensing performance at night, effectively compensating for the shortcomings of a 2D-only system.

AEB systems aimed at mitigating or avoiding vehicle collisions became part of the Euro NCAP rating system in 2014. Pedestrian AEB systems will be incorporated into the rating from 2016 onwards, as a contributing element to the pedestrian protection performance score of the vehicle.

For more information...

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies.
Learn more

SenseAhead

Détection des piétons et autres usagers vulnérables de la route

SenseAhead, le capteur de vision intelligent d'IEE, détecte les piétons, les véhicules et les objets situés sur la trajectoire du véhicule et fournit des informations cruciales au système de freinage d'urgence autonome (AEB).

SenseAhead-2a
SenseAhead
SenseAhead-logo

Les systèmes AEB s'appuient sur un grand nombre de capteurs haute technologie pour déterminer précisément l'environnement du véhicule, car ils ont pour but de ralentir la voiture de manière autonome afin d'éviter les collisions ou, du moins, d'en réduire la gravité.

Le système SenseAhead est conçu spécifiquement pour détecter les piétons et autres usagers vulnérables de la route, comme les cyclistes par exemple. Il se révèle particulièrement utile la nuit, puisque c'est à ce moment-là qu'ont lieu le plus grand nombre d'accidents graves ou mortels impliquant des piétons en zone urbaine.

Le capteur associe de manière exclusive une caméra 2D et une mesure 3D de la distance en faisant appel à une technique de calcul du temps de parcours (TOF). Comme le dispositif 3D possède son propre éclairage infrarouge, l'efficacité du capteur ne dépend pas de sources lumineuses externes, telles que les phares du véhicule ou les lampadaires. SenseAhead présente donc une efficacité toute particulière la nuit, car il compense les limitations d'un système à deux dimensions seulement.

Les systèmes AEB visant à réduire ou prévenir les collisions de véhicules sont entrés dans le système de notation Euro NCAP en 2014. Les systèmes AEB pour piétons seront pris en compte dans le calcul de la note de protection des piétons des véhicules à partir de 2016.

Pour en savoir plus...

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies.
Learn more