VitaSense

Radio-based technology to sense occupants

Awareness around the importance of not activating airbags for seats occupied by children in child seats has significantly increased since the 1990s, resulting in hundreds of children’s lives being saved.

What is not so well known is that 750 children since 1990 have died from vehicular heatstroke in the United States alone. This issue is not specific to the U.S. – cases have also been documented in several other countries.
Sadly, this is a situation that could happen to anyone.

All it takes is a change in the daily routine distracting the parent or caregiver - particularly when the child  is ‘out of sight’ on the rear seat of the car, there is a misunderstanding between parents about who will take the child out of the car, or if a child climbs into an unlocked car.

The interior temperature of a vehicle can reach a critical level in 15 minutes and, as children are affected by heatstroke faster than adults, the results can be deadly.

VitaSense is a system that detects children left in vehicles and provides this information to the vehicle’s warning systems. It detects occupants, including new-borns, based on their movements or breathing – even when they are sleeping.

Using 24 GHz low-power radio technology, similar to burglar alarms and automatic doors, VitaSense transmits a signal that is then reflected by occupants or objects. As, due to their movement, occupants modify these reflected signals differently, the system is able to discriminate between them and inanimate objects.

For more information...

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies.
Learn more

VitaSense

Radiowellentechnologie zur Insassenerkennung

Das Bewusstsein wie wichtig es ist, dass Airbags nicht aktiviert werden, wenn der Beifahrersitz mit einem Kind belegt ist, ist seit den 1990er Jahren stetig gewachsen. Das hat dazu geführt, dass hunderte Kinderleben gerettet werden konnten.

Noch immer nicht ausreichend bekannt ist, dass seit den 1990er Jahren allein in den USA 750 Kinder an einem Hitzschlag in Fahrzeugen gestorben sind. Dieses Problem ist kein Phänomen der USA - Fälle dieser Art sind auch aus anderen Ländern bekannt.

Das Schlimme daran: es könnte jedem von uns passieren. Die Analyse der Vorfälle zeigt, dass Ablenkung, eine Änderung in der täglichen Routine oder Missverständnisse zwischen den Eltern eine große Rolle spielen, vor allem, wenn das Kind auf dem Rücksitz „außer Sicht“ ist oder wenn ein Kind in ein unverschlossenes Auto klettert.

Die Innentemperatur eines Fahrzeugs kann innerhalb von 15 - 20 Minuten ein kritisches Niveau erreichen. Die Gefahr eines Hitzschlags ist für Kinder bedeutend höher als für Erwachsene, da ihre Körpertemperatur sehr viel schneller ansteigen kann. Die Folgen eines Hitzschlags können tödlich sein.

VitaSense ist ein System, das zurückgelassene Kinder in Fahrzeugen erkennt und entsprechende Informationen an das Warnsystem des Fahrzeugs weitergibt. Es erkennt Insassen - auch Neugeborene - an ihren Atembewegungen, selbst wenn sie schlafen.

VitaSense nutzt niederenergetische 24 GHz Radiowellentechnologie, ähnlich der von Alarmanlagen und automatischen Türen. Das ausgesendete Signal wird von Fahrzeuginsassen und Objekten reflektiert. Bewegungen der Insassen verändern die Charakteristik des reflektierten Signals anders als ein Objekt und somit kann das System zwischen ihnen und Objekten unterscheiden

Erfahren Sie mehr...

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies.
Learn more