SenseAhead

Detection of pedestrians and other vulnerable road users

IEE’s intelligent vision sensor, SenseAhead detects pedestrians, vehicles and objects in a vehicle’s driving path and provides crucial input for the Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) system.

SenseAhead-2a
SenseAhead
SenseAhead-logo

AEB systems rely heavily on high-tech sensors to accurately detect the vehicle’s surroundings, as they aim to slow the car autonomously in order to avoid or mitigate a collision.

With SenseAhead you have a system specifically designed to detect pedestrians and other vulnerable road users, such as cyclists. It offers improved performance at night - when most accidents with severely or fatally injured pedestrians occur in urban areas.

The sensor uniquely combines a 2D camera with 3D distance measurement based on time-of-flight (TOF) technology. As the 3D component has its own infrared illumination, the sensor’s performance doesn’t rely on other light sources, such as vehicle headlights or street lamps. SenseAhead thereby offers enhanced sensing performance at night, effectively compensating for the shortcomings of a 2D-only system.

AEB systems aimed at mitigating or avoiding vehicle collisions became part of the Euro NCAP rating system in 2014. Pedestrian AEB systems will be incorporated into the rating from 2016 onwards, as a contributing element to the pedestrian protection performance score of the vehicle.

For more information...

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies.
Learn more

SenseAhead

Erkennung von Fußgängern und anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern 

IEE’s intelligentes Kamerasystem SenseAhead erkennt Fußgänger, Fahrzeuge und Objekte, die sich in Fahrtrichtung des Autos befinden und leitet entsprechende Informationen an den Notbremsassistenten weiter. 

SenseAhead-2a
SenseAhead
SenseAhead-logo

Das Ziel eines Notbremsassistenten ist es, das Auto im Notfall automatisch abzubremsen, um einen Aufprall zu vermeiden bzw. abzuschwächen. Aus diesem Grund sind solche Systeme für die Überwachung der Fahrzeugumgebung in hohem Maße von hochentwickelten Sensoren abhängig.

SenseAhead ist Ihre perfekte Lösung zur Erkennung von Fußgängern sowie anderen Straßenverkehrsteilnehmern wie zum Beispiel Fahrradfahrer. Es verbessert insbesondere die Detektion bei Nacht - die Zeit  mit den meisten Unfällen mit tödlich oder schwer verletzten Fußgängern, vor allem in städtischen Gebieten.

Die Kombination einer 2D Kamera mit einer 3D Distanzmessung, welche auf der "Time Of Flight" (TOF)-Technologie basiert, ist hierbei einzigartig. Die 3D-Komponente verfügt über eine integrierte Infrarot-Beleuchtung, welche den Sensor von einer weiteren Lichtquellen, wie beispielsweise Fahrzeugscheinwerfern oder Straßenlaternen, unabhängig macht. SenseAhead bietet somit eine verbesserte Erkennung bei Nacht, welche die Defizite eines reinen 2D-Kamera-Systems kompensiert.

Notbremsassistenten zur Abschwächung oder Verhinderung eines Unfalls sind bereits seit 2014 Teil des EuroNCAP Bewertungssystems. Spezielle Notbremsassistenten zum Schutz von Fußgängern sind ab 2016 ein zusätzliches Element der Bewertung des Fußgängerschutzes des Fahrzeugs.

Erfahren Sie mehr...

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies.
Learn more